Black Community Colleges in Georgia

A few community colleges in the USA have taken on the mantle of providing a much needed mentoring, college experience and vocational training to a vast majority of students belonging to Black, Hispanic and other minority communities. Most of these colleges have religious beginnings and had started down South at a time when slavery was prevalent in American society. Although lesser known and little recognized, there are 106 US colleges today that cater to the educational needs of Black communities.
Spelman College
Spelman College, once known as Atlanta Baptist Female Seminary, was established in Atlanta (Georgia) in 1881 as a private, independent liberal arts college. It is part of the largest consortium of Atlanta University Centre and holds the distinction of being America’s first historically black college of higher education for women.
Spread over an area of 9 acres, with 5 buildings, Spelman offers over 25 majors and minors in various streams.
All the students are female, of which 91% are African-American. Spelman offers degrees in Bachelor of Arts (majors include Art, Child Development, Comparative Women's Studies, Drama, Economics, English, French, History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology and Anthropology) and Bachelor of Science (majors include Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Computers, Engineering, Mathematics, Environmental Science and Physics).
Morehouse College
Founded in 1867 by William Jefferson White, Morehouse College (initially called Augusta Institute) is one of the finest all-male liberal arts colleges in Atlanta, Georgia. It is a private, not-for-profit; historically black college spread over 61 acres with 3,000 enrollments. Part of the Atlanta University Centre, it is one of the three non-religious men’s colleges in USA.
Morehouse offers 26 majors leading to a Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree; through its three academic divisions – Business Administration & Economics, Humanities and Social Sciences and Science & Mathematics.
Clark-Atlanta University
Clark-Atlanta University (CAU) is private, urban institution located in Atlanta, Georgia established in 1988. It was formed by consolidation of Clark College and Atlanta University and is part of the Atlanta University Centre, with a predominance of African-American heritage.
CAU consists of 37 buildings and has a campus area of more than 125 acres, offering courses through its various academic schools such as Arts and Sciences, Business Administration, Education and Social Work.
Albany State University
Albany State University (ASU) was established in 1903 and is a state-supported, historically black University located in Albany, Georgia. The campus sits over an area of 231 acres and offers more than 30 undergraduate degree programmes and 6 advanced liberal arts and professional degrees.
Albany State has a total enrollment of over 4,000. The university has courses organized into four divisions, namely, Arts & Humanities, Business, Education and Science & Health Professions.
Morris Brown College
Morris Brown College, founded by African Methodist Episcopal Church in 1881, is a private, coeducational, liberal arts college located in the Vine City Community of Atlanta, Georgia.
Morris Brown College offers baccalaureate degrees in the general education program, management entrepreneurship and technology program (MET) and organizational management and leadership program.


Popular Posts